What kind of car do you drive?

I like to liken my body to a sports car; a Lamborghini or a Ferrari perhaps. It’s aerodynamic, easy on the eye and performs well (most of the time), but it also requires a fair amount of maintenance and upkeep. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I do feel like the old Mitsubishi Delica van I used to have: the battery would almost go flat just starting the engine, and it was embarrassingly gutless on hills. The problem with that van was that it ran on the wrong fuel – LPG – but petrol or diesel probably would’ve been better.

For me to run like a sports car, it’s essential that I treat myself as if I am. I don’t work properly if I don’t give myself good fuel; it’s as simple as that. As an example, here’s my lunch from the other day. The salmon and mushrooms came from the supermarket, the avocado from a nearby orchard, and the miner’s lettuce from my front door. I love miner’s lettuce! It’s the super star of spring – fresh and sweet and juicy and crunchy all at once. And pretty too, I love the way the flowers grow up through the middle of the leaf. I’ve squeezed some lemon juice on top, freshly picked from my mum’s tree next door. I raid her garden on a regular basis and invariably return with an assortment of fresh greens.

I’m constantly experimenting with my diet, finding out what works well and what doesn’t. I know which types fuel make me feel like a shitty old van: wheat and sugar. I know if I eat these I’ll feel about as aerodynamic and energetic as a brick. I also know that sometimes I’ll feel like a brick even when I eat well. Those are the times to rest up and take it easy. And sometimes, occasionally, I can eat chocolate and ice cream and feel great. I don’t beat myself up about this either, I enjoy it for what it is: a treat. I guess even a sports car needs an ice cream every now and then.

What kind of car do you drive?

Leave a Reply

